The Chicago Cubs defeat the Cleveland Indians to win the World Series for the first time in 108 years.


The Chicago Cubs celebrate their World Series win after a heart wrenching game 7. Photo Courtesy of the Chicago Tribune.

Jacob Chagoya, Web Editor

CLEVELAND, OHIO – The Chicago Cubs have won the World Series for the first time in 108 years, defeating the Cleveland Indians 8-7 in Game 7. After going down 3 games to 1 in a best of 7 series, the Cubs won three straight games to make history.

On a night when ace pitchers Kyle Hendricks and Corey Kluber started, offense was abundant. Cubs leadoff hitter Dexter Fowler opened the scoring up with a leadoff home run, the first ever leadoff home run in a Game 7 of the World Series. The Cubs would end the game with 13 hits, while the Indians would end with 11. The Indians would respond in the next inning, tying the game at 1 run apiece.

The Cubs would score 4 more runs by by the 5th inning, seemingly blowing the game open with a 5-1 lead. Then, the chaos ensued . With two outs, and after a brilliant outing from Cubs pitcher Hendricks, Cubs Manager Joe Maddon pulled him after walking a man. Jon Lester, usually a starting pitcher, entered the game. With Indians players reaching second and third base, a wild pitch scored both, cutting the Cubs lead down to 2.

In the next inning, Cubs Catcher David Ross, in his last game ever, homered off of Indians closer Andrew Miller. It appeared to be a fitting end to his career, as it seemed like the dagger in the heart of Cleveland. Another two innings passed before Game 7 would pick up, making the baseball world shake.

In the bottom of the 8th inning, Jon Lester surrendered a run. Down 2, Maddon inserted closer Aorldis Chapman. After not surrendering a home run in his entire Cubs career, Rajai Davis smacked a two run home run to tie the game at 6 runs apiece.

No team would score in the 9th, but that didn’t mean the drama would end, as the game would enter a rain delay. The tarp was rolled out and both teams returned to the club house. Chapman, who surrendered the game tying home run, reportedly was in tears. The Indians meanwhile, had to keep their momentum going during the rain delay.

As the game entered extra innings, Kyle Schwarber opened up the 10th with a base hit. After a fly out moved pinch runner Albert Almora to second base, the Indians decided to intentionally walk rizzo. Ben Zobrist, who would be named the World Series MVP, hit a double to score Almora, giving the Cubs the lead back. Addison Russell would also be intentionally walked to load the bases before Miguel Montero would score one more run on a base hit.

Even with a 2 run lead, the Cubs didn’t put the game away immediately. After two outs from rookie pitcher Carl Edwards Jr. Rajai Davis would hit another RBI to cut the lead back down to 1 run. Reliever Mike Montgomery would enter the game, and force a chopper down to third base. Kris Bryant would field the ball, ending the game and giving the Cubs their first World Series win in 108 years.